Writing 101, Day Three: Commit to a Writing Practice

Day 3 of The Daily Post’s Writing 101 assignment asks:

Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?

Song #1 – Never Gonna Give You Up (Rick Astley)

Why would I dare Rickroll my own post?  Well because it was just so catchy, just so viral way back in 2008… it just had to be the song that me and my just married wife walked down the pier immediately after the ceremonies! (yes, I got married on a pier with Lake Michigan on either sides of us… jealous much?)

Song #2 – Harder, Better, Faster, Stonger (Daft Punk)

This song means a lot to me for some reason… maybe only for the fact that it was my first introduction to the awesomeness that is this masked duo.  It was synced to this pretty cool flash video that I found on ebaumsworld in college, riiiight when flash videos started gaining popularity.  It’s just got a great rhythm and beat to it and its also something I came to have in common with my wife as she also loves Daft Punk too! (hmmm.. seems to be a theme to these song choices… lets see what Song 3 has to say.)

Song #3 – Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy (Ren & Stimpy Show)

Probably the quintessential cartoon show of the 90s, Ren Aand Stimpy is one of those shows that you don’t realize at the time just how…. insane it really is.  This of course is the one song that everybody and their cousin can sing word for word (duh… only 4 words!)  and yes… another song that me and my wife (yes! 3 for 3 in wife references! someone’s getting a foot rub tonight!)  (her.) came to find out we share a fondness for once we realized just how dirty and silly the show was.

 

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

