Daily Prompt!!!!: Back to the Future Prefect

Back to the Future

Back to the Future (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Daily Prompt asks:

 A service has been invented through which you can send messages to people in the future. To whom would you send something, and what would you write?

Interesting premise… Usually we’re asked about physically travelling to the future to see what kind of awesome/horrifying/alien-controlled world humanity is living in.  But if you send a message to the future…you’ll never get a response.  I mean, this service is a one-way ticket right?  The prompt doesn’t assume that technology will be available to send message back in time to me to respond.

So… yeah, kind of a bummer right? 

/hmm…

Got it! Ok, here’s my plan. 

Who do I send the message to? – Tough one.  Whoever you send it to will of course have to still be alive by the time the letter arrives.  Do you send it 10 years in the future? 100?  Just send it to the acting POTUS at that time?  The immortal Abe Vigoda?  Fine.  I’ll send a letter to myself and roll the dice and guess I’d still be around in 50 years.

What is my message?

Dear Future Leonard,

Hope you are still alive.  If you are, please follow my instructions.  As you already know, some guy in Seattle figured out a way to send messages to people in the future.  I apologize for your endless barrage of requests for winning lottery numbers, dates and methods of people’s deaths, stock prices, horse racing results, the results of every single sporting event on the planet, etc.  These dopes didn’t think about the fact that you may not ever be able to respond to us. 

So my request is simple:  If the technology to send messages back in time to respond to my question has not been developed yet, please pass this message along further along in the future and ask one of your descendants if the technology to respond to past messages has been created.

If you, Leonard of the Year 2063 or any of my future spawn, do have the ability to send messages back to me here in 2013, I only ask of one thing:

Do the Chicago Cubs ever win the World Series?

My dad would love to know and if I could tell him when it happened and we kept him in safe and healthy long enough to live to see it, I’d be so glad to let him know his time waiting would soon be over.  And yes, I know as a Sox fan I should never, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever hope for such an awful thing to happen.  But since the White Sox won in 2005, I feel like he deserves to feel the same happiness that I felt.  So if you could do me a solid and let me know, I’d much appreciate it.  

P.S. – Now about those lottery numbers for the Powerball…

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt!!!!: Back to the Future Prefect

  1. Pingback: Launching A New Twitter Feature; Back To The Future Tweetin‘! | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Back to the Future | Joe's Musings

  3. Pingback: THE STROOP EFFECT | hastywords

Leave a Reply

