Going Off the Sports Grid or How I’m Giving It Up For LENT

Tonight, Jaime and I went out to dinner at one of our old stomping grounds when we first lived on the South Side of Chicago. It’s called 115 Bourbon Street and they are a Cajun themed restaurant (duh) that also hosts big events and concerts. And with today being Fat Tuesday, Jaime just HAD to have Crawfish which is like one of her all-time favorite foods.

Now we are in the middle of ripping apart these little red crustaceans (and mind you, this is no easy task for me. I’m not exactly enjoying pulling apart these tiny creatures that were boiled alive ok?) when Jaime says…

J: So what are you giving up for Lent?
Me: Um, what do you mean? Did we become Catholics all of a sudden?
J: Well, you know it’s still something important that people do. It’s a way to prove oneself to God by giving something up in sacrifice for 40 days.
Me: Well….
J: Come on! See I’ll do it with you. But it has to be something you would truly miss! What’s the most important thing you like to do on your own?
Me: um…… Watching sports?
J: Perfect! That’s it! You give up sports for Lent… 40 Days and Nights SPORTS FREE.
Me: …..

Ok, normally I would have outright dismissed this immediately and this would lead to the inevitable argument and possible sleeping on the couch scenario… But the more I thought about it it did sound intriguing… But I wasn’t quite sold yet..

J: You could even blog about it! Write about how hard it is for probably the most Sports obsessed person I have ever known to give up something so important to himself. I bet by the end of it you’ll be amazed at what happens at the end!

Ding! Ding! Ah, that’s what it needed. An EPIC BLOG QUEST

Challenge Accepted!

So here are the rules I’ve come up with to avoid sports at all costs to my eternal soul:

1) No watching Live Games – Probably the easiest rule to create. Bulls game on? nope, read a book. Blackhawks going for their 20th straight win? sorry, go do some push ups tubby! This also applies to highlights and pretty much every ESPN show.

2) No sports radio – This will be tough, it’s pretty much the only thing I listen to going to and from work. 670 The Score will undoubtedly miss my listenership immensely.

3) No Sports websites – ugh, no more Deadspin? Whitesox.com? And ALL the rest?? Maybe this won’t be a walk in the park as I first thought.

And pretty much that’s how I’m going to do this. I sure hope I don’t go all Howard Hughes on ya by day 40 3 but there is a high probability of that very scenario happening so I am getting my empty tissue boxes for my feet stocked.

Ok! At Midnight tonight, I am off the Sports Grid for 40 days and 40 nights! Wish me luck! And to all my favorite teams.. Please don’t do anything significant for the next month! Daddy will be back soon!

This entry was posted in Epic Blog Quests and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

