Daily Prompt: 32 Flavors – All the Colors of the Rainbow Cone

Daily Prompt: 32 Flavors.

Vanilla, chocolate, or something else entirely?

Hmm.  This question seems to be quite loaded really.  To pick Vanilla or Chocolate almost seems like defending the “mainstream” choice…and if you 3 people reading this know anything about me… I am anything but mainstream.  But the vaguery of “something else entirely” almost makes me wonder if the point is to pick something other than those basic flavors and go “against the norm”. 

Hmmm….

Ok. I’ve decided.  My answer is: Rainbow Cone.

From this diagram, you can see where Rainbow Cone gets its name.  It’s a multi-layer concoction that brings together savory and sweet flavors in a way that just works.  I mean, give every member of Congress a scoop of this delicious treat and our Debt Ceiling crisis will be replace by the Brain Freeze Crisis.  And honestly, that’s a much better problem to deal with isn’t it?

Its origins come from the southside of Chicago (my hometown).  Rainbow Cone is a neiborhood staple that started way back in 1926.  Check out the history on its origins here

So there, I played by your silly rules DP!  You made me think and now I can only be soothed by some delicious Rainbow Co… what?  It doesn’t reopen until March???

/doh!

This entry was posted in DPChallenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daily Prompt: 32 Flavors – All the Colors of the Rainbow Cone

  1. Theena Theen says:

    I like this! That is definitely a really cool cone and I can see how the flavors work together. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  2. djmatticus says:

    Disasater! No Rainbow Cone until March? That just won’t do. We’ll have to find the flavors separately where we can and construct it ourselves!

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt; 32 Flavors/ The Daily Post | terry1954

Leave a Reply

