Crazy Idea…Give Me Homework!

All througout my days of school, I wrote a lot.  I mean, papers and reports and stuff like that.  And often times I dreaded the entire process.  Even when it was something that I actually was inspired about, I kept getting to points where I asked myself: What the hell am I trying to say here?

And as was usually the case, my nature was to procrastinate and wait until the verrrry last day (or even hour) to get a figurative gun pressed against my head by an ex-KGB agent with a lit cigarette dangling from the corner of his mouth and force me to write something.   The craziest thing is… it always seemed to work out!  Whatever I turned in ended up passing whatever sniff test my teachers had and I escaped with a good grade and just a small imprint of a gun barrel against my temple.

So, again I ask myself: What the hell am I trying to say here? I think I actually have an answer.  I need… AN ASSIGNMENT

Yes, you heard me.  I need homework. 

But I need some help.  I want to write a story.  Short story actually, I mean I can’t churn out Game of Thrones 6: A Flood of Flamingos or anything.  Here are the rules:

  1. I need a name.  Any name.  My character has to be called something right?
  2. I need a catalyst/event.  What is [unnamed] doing?
  3. I need a week.

If anyone wants to help me, just respond in the comments and I will promise something (good or bad, can’t be helped) and you can tell me if this is something worthwile or if I should just stick to my day job.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crazy Idea…Give Me Homework!

  1. A few weeks ago I started to write the novel that has been fermenting for several years. Several years but no main character name! A few pages in and his name suddenly appeared. Start your piece, a name will appear and then you’ll wonder how it couldn’t possibly be anything else. Good luck. By the way, 17,000 words later and I don’t have a title. . .

  2. djmatticus says:

    Your mission, should you choose to except it:
    Name: Charles Mumm (ack, hate coming up with names for my characters, and usually write for awhile before I come up with something I like)
    Catalyst: option 1 – something related to the apacalypse – scientiest and historians got it wrong and the Mayan calendar is actually going to end January 21st of this year; option 2 – (running with your homework theme) something to do with school – tackling bullying, or a teacher/student relationship, if you are up to those challenges, or something as simple as a day in the life of brilliant, unapreciated student; option 3 – the main character wakes up to find himself alone, in his house, his city, his county, his state….
    I know you only asked for one, but I felt it was unfair to assign you homework without having a better idea of your forte (which I’m going to go explore now) so wanted you to have some options to go with what suited you best
    Week: starting the timer….. ….. …… now, go!

  3. Pingback: Mumms The Word | Chicago Gore

Leave a Reply

