Weekly Writing Challenge – My Very First Year on WordPress!

13997307-blocks-with-the-transition-from-year-2012-to-2013-on-a-white-background

So it’s almost the end of the world year and this week’s DPChallenge has got me thinking about my first year trying my hand at this whole blogging thing.  I think it’s time to reflect and see how far I’ve come since my very first post… Let’s ask the author shall we?

Q: So Leonard, 2012 is coming to an end.  What was the best part of blogging here on WordPress?

A:  I have had a lot of fun writing on here and posting my random thoughts for all of the internet to briefly glance at and then move on to cat videos!  I mean look at my first post all the way back in May!  That Leonard would be AMAZED at how much Chicago Gore as blown up in the last 6 months.  Shocked even!

Q: What was the hardest part of writing the blog?

A:  Just finding the time to write something.  With work and home life stuff popping up, I had a hard time finding big blocks of time where I could just sit down and come up with something interesting or funny to write.  Also, I’ve been all over the map in my topics.  I have so many ideas and things that catch my attention that probably stretch my writing style too thin.

Q: What do you want to improve on for the blog for 2013?

A:  I think I will come up with a more focused blog for next year.  I will try to set a schedule for posting, maybe 2 or 3 a week and blog about specific topics on certain days.  I want to be a more consistent blogger and finally get some consistant viewers.  Upping the view count will be something I want to improve on as well.

Q: What was your favorite post from this year?

A:  I really enjoyed that whole No 3 Letter Words challenge from a couple months ago!  It was extremely hard to avoid using gimme words like “the” and “and”… You really get to know your contractions better after a challenge like that.

Q: Well, I’m off to watch adorable cat videos.  Anything else you want to share with your readers?

A:  Please, please comment on my posts! Even if you think it sucks, and boy it probably does, I can’t improve if you don’t let me know what you like or don’t like!  I’m desperate! I’ll write anything!!!

This entry was posted in DPChallenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weekly Writing Challenge – My Very First Year on WordPress!

  1. dmauldin53 says:

    What a unique idea! Interviewing yourself. I loved it!

  2. This was my first full year blogging too, and I completely agree that finding the time is the hardest part.

  3. indytony says:

    This is my first month back at WordPress after blogging for about two years some time ago. I’m starting to get into my rhythm. One tip – if you need more time to blog, try quitting your job. I’m currently unemployed and I find it does wonders for my blogging career.

  4. EmaniseJ says:

    Very Interesting on how you interview yourself. I almost missed the transition. It’s wonderful to see writers challenge themselves on WordPress because it’s archived for the world and you to see. Progress can only be assured if you have a definite before and after.

Leave a Reply

